Rockingham County Public Library: Youth Services: Digital Resources

Our digital databases offer high-quality online learning and is accessible from your couch to the classroom. Many of the electronic resources are made available through NCLive, a cooperative library service for the students, faculty, business people, and residents of North Carolina. Use your library card or student ID number to access for free. Some of our favorites include:

Credo Reference
Credo Reference helps develop research skills by offering over 3 million full-text entries, searchable images, hundreds of in-depth titles. This database provides trusted,  high-quality information. Use this database to build mind maps and gain information on complex topics.
Ferguson Career Guidance Center
Plan your education, explore industries and careers, and launch your career with Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center. Use this database for assistance in applying for colleges, financial aid, finding internships, career pathways, building resumes, cover letters, and job interviews.
Films on Demand for Kids
Films on Demand for Kids streams kid-safe, advertisement-free, and educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more.
Learning Express
Checkout e-books, audiobooks, streaming videos, and Read-Alongs specifically designed for youth ages pre-K through 4th grade. The collection includes picture books, youth fiction, youth non-fiction, and more. Browse by subject, format or genre, and the advanced search feature allows filtering by availability, language, date added, and much more.
NCKids Digital Library
Checkout e-books, audiobooks, streaming videos, and Read-Alongs specifically designed for youth ages pre-K through 4th grade. The collection includes picture books, youth fiction, youth non-fiction, and more. Browse by subject, format or genre, and the advanced search feature allows filtering by availability, language, date added, and much more.
SIRS Discoverer
Explore arts, history, people, social studies, science, sports, math, technology, and more with SIRS Discoverer. Search through reliable reference books, newspapers, magazines, images, and websites. This database is perfect for science fair projects, pro/con arguments, studying current events, and developing research papers.
Transparent Languages
Build listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience. There’s over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
World Book Online
Lesson plans, science activities, timeline building, interactive maps, challenging games, and citation builders are all available through World Book Online. This source is easy to navigate and safe for all users.